Final Jeopardy – 11/10/14

 

Alaska

   

ALASKA

 

 

Alaska, the 49th state added to the Union, was originally purchased from Russia for over $7 million. That would be slightly over $120 million in today’s dollars.

The purchase was negotiated by William H. Seward, Secretary of State under Abraham Lincoln and subsequently, his successor Andrew Johnson. Due to the exorbitant cost, and the fact that critics saw no real gain from the area, the deal quickly became known as “Seward’s Folly“, and alternately “Seward’s Icebox”.

Alaska Day, celebrating the formal transfer of the territory from Russia to the United States, is observed on October 18. It was declared an official state holiday in 1917.

   

About jerzygirl45

I'm weird, pointless and I make no sense. I don't say much but when I do, sometimes it's brilliant. Oh, and I've been know to curse like a sailor. I like to think, dream, and talk about men and SEX, SEX, SEX. I'm moody, and quirky. Silliness is my middlename. (It's really Edna, but that's a secret.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

